A Cruise Experience

So there we were, at the back of the Cultural Center of the Philippines, ready to board a yacht for a dinner cruise. From the start, I knew that lighting conditions on board a boat at night wasn’t really ideal. Heck, it was as crappy as riding the MRT during rush hour. And yet, even with that knowledge in mind, I was mentally prepared to document the night and not allow crappy lighting situations from getting what I want.

Since Tin had her Nikon D3100 kit with her, I gave her the speedlight to use because she needed it more than I did. To compensate, I decided to go guerrilla with my technique. Changed the settings to take black and white photos, boosted the ISO up and opened my aperture wide open. Sure, it may not take photos worthy of adoration but I focused more on capturing the moment rather than following the light meter inside my camera.

All in all, the dinner on board a yacht, provided by Prestige Cruises, was a-okay. Not too shabby, not too bad at all. My only two complaints were the food and the short amount of time we had. I guess we really can’t have it all for the bargain price we paid.

To Jojo, Abby, Joy and Biboy, a tribute to that night via my photos and Tin’s. Here’s to the next dinner with you guys, cheers!

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Julio Munar Photography

Photos by: J. Munar and C. Rafol

Equipment used: Nikon D90 + Nikkor 50mm f1.8G AF-S + Nikon D3100 + Nikon 18-55 f3.5-5.6G AF-S + Nikon SB-900 Speedlight

Leave a Reply

