Good Omens

Got this book as a gift from my brother this Christmas.

Julio Munar Photography

Along with the book, I treated myself to a new camera for the holidays – the Olympus XZ-1, which I used to snap the photo above. What was interesting though with the camera, isPrac that it’s geared more towards the enthusiast rather than the soccer mom. That means it has more ways for you to control your exposure than the average point and shoot. Proof of that is the photo above. I attached a Nikon SB-900 speedlight to its hotshoe, dialed down the camera to its base ISO of 100 and snapped away.

What came out amazed me. The details of the book cover was maintained, even when it was zoomed 100%. For shots without a speedlight and ISO 640 up, that’s another story/blog post entry for another day. Nevertheless, for its price, performance and form factor, I’m definitely happy with this kid.

Equipment used: Olympus XZ-1 + Nikon SB-900 Speedlight

Leave a Reply

